“Schooooooool’s out for…”

School is officially done for the summer. I’ve turned in my portfolio and my three papers, I’ve graded all of the Rhetorical Analysis and Critique papers, and I’ve even looked over and graded the papers that students turned in for a better grade. ALL of the final grades are posted two days before deadline.

I really enjoyed every one of the papers that I read and graded. I really enjoyed grading them, even, because of that. My students did really well over all, most of them with A’s and B’s, even without a curve. The students who really needed help improved immensely over the course of the semester, and the ones that failed did so because they simply didn’t come to class and didn’t do the work. I’m proud of my students, and happy with the work that we finished together this term. I am done.

Except that I’m not, of course. Now is the time I should start working on my class for next year. I have a novel to read to decide if I want to use it in my course, a handbook that I need to look through so I know what’s in it, a syllabus to put together (probably based on the chapters of the handbook), and papers to plan and write assignment sheets for.

But that’s what this summer is for. If I can get 211B together over the summer, then I can adapt the syllabus and etc. for 211D over Christmas break in time for semester to start in the Winter. That’s my plan, anyway.

Of course there’s the wedding to plan. And the house to clean before the wedding. And my dress to finish, his shirt to sew, flowers to be planted, flowers to be ordered and made into bouquets… There’s a lot left to do. Luckily, the wedding is a month away, and will be over with early in the summer, leaving me plenty of time left to work on school.

Right now, though, I’m looking forward to relaxing a little. Subbing, sure, and working on the wedding, but I’m just not going to let myself be stressed by that stuff. There’s no percentage in it.

And a quote from my EN504 teacher: “If you are a teacher, and not just someone who wants to be paid as a professor, then you need to learn to care about younger people on thier way to maturity.” — Gabriel Brahm

Leave a Reply

