Woah.

Three papers, thirty-five days, and who knows how many miles down. We’re just starting the biggest paper of the semester, and we’re only five weeks from finals. Right about now I’m feeling…

..Calm. Remarkably in control. Like I’ve got this.

I know, it’s stupid to feel this way. And it might just be a calm before the storm, but I don’t really see a storm coming. A lot of the rest of the semester is in-class research days and conferences. Sure, there’ll be a lot of reading on my part, but most of what we’ll be doing is action, not lecture, not something hard to prepare for. Oh, yeah, I’ll have work to do, and that list is only the class I’m teaching, not anything for the classes I’m taking or my own educational requirements.

Maybe it’s simply optimism. I have always been an optimist because it’s more pleasant than the alternative. There’s a light at the end of this semester, and I can see it on the horizon.

But as long as I don’t let myself worry too much, as long as I actually accomplish a lot over the weekends, and as long as I continue to talk to my fellow teachers and students, I know I can get to the end in triumph! I’ve got great students behind me, and I’m excited to see what they have to say. They don’t hate me that I know of. I suppose I should check “Rate my Prof.” before I say that, though.

Add to that the fact that I’ve got a fellow grad student interested in looking at my book and giving me feedback. Add to that the fact that I’ll be able to finish my degree without having to take out more loans. Add to that the fact that more people with literary educations are telling me I’m a good writer… Yeah, I’m in my happy place.

Off to read Rhetorical Analysis proposals!

Leave a Reply

