We Wish You…

I do wish you all a Merry Christmas, and a Happy New Year, and Peace and Joy and all that other good stuff.

I also wish everyone productivity, enjoyment of what they have to do to make a living, and great luck in any new endeavors in 2012.

I have amazed myself by actually finishing all of the Christmas presents that I set out to make. I didn’t come up with a couple of them until it was too late to start them, but I finished the last gift yesterday (Christmas Eve) in time to wrap it and bring it with me to my folk’s place for my mom. I also finished two pies that no one had room to eat. I felt like super-woman! And that’s what counts, right?

I have found something I enjoy to do to make a living. I’ve been in classrooms for three months, now, and I have never enjoyed a job this much that was so stressful. I love the little darlings. I wish they would sit down and do what I asked them to do. I suppose that comes with being a sub for a while. Maybe. If I’m lucky.

I am looking forward to actually having my own class to teach. I don’t know how much subbing I’ll be able to do while I’m in front of my own classroom, but hopefully next Fall I’ll be a little more flexible and can sub a few days a week instead of just one day and maybe some mornings in a week. But I’ll certainly need the time to prepare to be a teacher, to prepare lessons, and to grade what I give them. English teachers have a LOT of reading to do.

Any minute now, I’ll have feedback on my novel, now finished for a year, but no beta-readers getting back to me. When I have that back, I can polish to a (hopefully) final draft, and shop it around. Probably shop myself to an agent first, but certainly shop the book around. Before the end of the year? Please?

So yes, I wish all of these things for myself, too, but I wish them just as much for you. I know how hard it can be if you DON’T have these things. So let’s keep these in mind and keep it positive for the New Year!

Leave a Reply

