“Closer to You”

I’ve been driving a lot. And I mean a LOT. Not only do I have my 20-minute-one-way trip to work and back five days a week, but I’m also commuting an hour and ten minutes one way to school and back twice a week. *Tries to do math in her head and fails* Anyway, it’s a lot of driving. And the biggest difference between last time I was commuting to Marquette and this time is that this time I have a CD player.

This makes all the difference. Last time I was commuting, it was a miracle that I didn’t fall asleep at the wheel, because if there was a song on the radio that I didn’t know, I would start to nod off, not being able to sing along with it. Having a CD player means that there isn’t a song playing that I don’t at least have a passing familiarity with. I listen to favorites like John Mayer and Jewel, Joni Mitchell, Chris Smither, Lost Prophets, Metallica… I have a lot of CDs and I’m glad to get to listen to them.

The CD that I’ve been listening to this week is Dixie Chicks’ “Fly.” You know, the one with “Goodbye Earl” on it? No, before the naked magazine cover. It wasn’t long after I got this CD that I realized that there was a song on it titled, “Closer to You.” This may not be significant to anyone who DIDN’T grow up with my mother, but it is significant to me.

About twenty years ago, my mom wrote her first real love song for my dad and titled it “Closer to You.” They’d been married about twenty years at this point, and it’s about being comfortable with your partner and being brilliantly happy about it.

I know, there’s a lot of time between the two songs being written (I don’t think the Dixie Chicks are much older than me, so it’s not likely they wrote Their song twenty years ago). And I know that mom isn’t anywhere near as famous as the Dixie Chicks. But it does show the power of collective unconscious.

Despite the differences between these two songs, they still are titled the same. I suppose it’s no big surprise that they are both about love, but the one is about people who’ve been together a long time, and the other is about a newer love, someone she’s still getting used to. They’re both slow, and primarily played on acoustic guitars. There really are a lot of similarities, at least as many as differences.

There are a lot of conversations about originality. This sometimes is about copy write, and sometimes about entertainment, but there is a lot of complaining that there isn’t anything original in the world.

I have disagree about that. I would say that there is a lot of originality that is collective, and that spontaneous mutual brilliance CAN happen, and does all the time. We can be pretty sure that the girl who wrote the Dixie Chicks’ song hadn’t heard my mom’s, so her writing was totally original, even when it wasn’t.

This might not make a lot of sense. It was brilliant in my head.

7 Comments

  1. blackwatertown said,

    September 11, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Agree that spontaneous mutual brilliance can happen as you describe.
    As for the driving – I sometimes go for long involved audio books on CD – but if that fails – The (early) Pogues!

    • broadwriter said,

      September 13, 2011 at 9:37 pm

      I was just thinking about audio books today! I do have some good CDs, but I’m going to have to change them out pretty soon.

      I have a couple of new books that I want to find on CD. I need to check out the library audio book shelf next time I’m in town.

    • broadwriter said,

      October 5, 2011 at 11:09 pm

      Thanks to you reminding me, I’ve now listened to “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” by Barbara Kingsolver, and I’m currently listening to “The Divine Comedy” by Dante. Granted, the last one is more out of guilt that I’ve managed to avoid it so far in school, but I’m having fun ‘re-interpreting’ it through my pagan ears. It’s a very nice translation, very poetic.

      So thank you!

  2. Hal Anderson said,

    September 8, 2011 at 4:19 pm

    Brilliant, makes perfect sense to me

    • broadwriter said,

      September 8, 2011 at 11:37 pm

      Thank you. It’s sometimes hard to tell… Especially after a long day…

  3. Bonnie said,

    September 6, 2011 at 11:10 pm

    Yes, there is originality in the world. However, not in Hollywood, not in the mainstream media either. The sheer amount of re-makes is mind boggling. Also, I found out the other day that they want to re-make a movie from the 80s into a TV show. Guess what that movie is? *Romancing the Stone*! !?!!?

    There is absolutely creativity and originality. But apparently the people with money don’t want to take risks on them. Grr.

    • broadwriter said,

      September 8, 2011 at 11:42 pm

      Joan Wilder just wouldn’t be the same… Michael Douglas might be persuaded to take up his part again, though…

      There is a lot of trouble with the ‘risks’ of originality, and for some good reason. “Firefly” was beyond awesome and original, but it didn’t really fly after all (minor punning…). But there are a lot of interesting original ideas that DID take off, it’d just harder to tell at this point because a. they are certainly established by now and b. there are surely a dozen copy-cats off of them (because they made money!).

      There’s also the fact that the copy-cats DO make money, so they’re a safer bet that way, too. Never mind that they’re not as good and probably won’t draw big name actors.


Leave a Reply

