New Adventures

I’m reading a lot more lately. Like a LOT more. Not that I didn’t have stints where I was reading before, but usually, I’d get a book, obsessively read it, if there was a sequel, I’d find and obsessively read that, then I’d find something else to distract me for a while and I’d move on to other ways to spend my time.

But that’s not what I’m doing. I mean, I am somewhere in the beginning-middle of Battlefield Earth by L. Ron Hubbard at Corey’s insistence, but it has been put aside and just stares at me accusingly from the side table.

No, I’m not obsessively reading anything fiction, I’m reading books to prepare me for the life that is to come. I’ve gotten all of my school books for one class in the mail and I’ve started reading those. I’m through three of the six and mostly managing to stay awake (more a comment on my sleep patterns than my interest in the subjects, I assure you). I’m not sure how much reading of the reference book I’ll be doing, but they just sent me a ‘How to teach with’ book to go with it, so I’ll probably be using it in my reading, anyway.

Also, I’m secretary for a board that meets once a month, and my first meeting is this Sunday. “Robert’s Rules for Dummies” by C. Alan Jennings (Yes someone has to write the Dummies books; no it’s not the same person for every book) is the book that the board has chosen to follow for it’s understandable nature. I’ve never really been an officer of anything, so although I know the basics (“I move we…” “I second…” “All in favor?”), There are a lot more rules than I thought there were. Reading key sections of what is supposed to be a reference book is going a bit slower than I’d like.

So I’m gearing my brain up to be stuffed with new knowledge. It’s a little resistant at the moment, but once I get back into the swing of things, I’m sure I’ll regain my sponge-like memory (easily squeezed out by outside influence)…

2 Comments

  1. blackwatertown said,

    August 31, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    My suggestion is this – shelve or forget Battlefield Eart and try Lucky Jim by Kingsley Amis. A very funny favourite book.

    • broadwriter said,

      September 3, 2011 at 2:21 pm

      Actually, I’m greatly enjoying Battlefield Earth, but it’s just over a thousand pages long, so it takes a while. I’ll certainly keep an eye open for Lucky Jim, though! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

