“Come together! Right now…”

I have, generally, a hermit-like tendency. I leave my house five days a week to go to work, but I come straight home after and fall into my computer most nights. If I have a day off, I usually want to stay home (but often have obligations that call me elsewhere).

However, I do have a wedding to plan. As part of that, I have been calling my bridesmaids to tell them we changed the date. Contrary to how that sounds, these are not short conversations. One call is to Colorado, the another to Massachusetts, yet another is in town, but I don’t get to see her much. These calls remind me of the importance of having a community.

These girls are my friends, my fellow writers, and my sisters. They were a few of the first people to encourage my story-telling. They were also a few of the first to induce me to stay up all night. Talk of writing, reading, TV shows, careers… these are all things that fuel me, things I forget I need.

I am very lucky that mobile-to-mobile is free. I will need it, I think, as I try and actively keep in touch with my sisters, to try and keep my community closer. Maybe even re-vamp my online women’s writers’ community.

Also keeping my community closer: I have a new blog to direct you to! http://kathrynsopinion.wordpress.com/ will likely be gardening, writing, home-blessing, maybe a little political. But will certainly be a great read! Kathryn will, at the very least, amuse.

2 Comments

  1. Liberty said,

    March 12, 2011 at 3:06 am

    I guess I’ll have to snoop around the family to find out when the wedding will be now…Didn’t have a chance to ask M or B today. 🙂

    I love you, but honey I really must remind you to spell-check. Don’t allow your brilliant storytelling to get buried under technical mistakes. For instance, “Massechucits” should be “Massachusetts.” 🙂 At least you’re a phonetic speller, though, so your point still gets made.

    • broadwriter said,

      March 12, 2011 at 1:01 pm

      Oops! I actually meant to spell-check that last night… Musta been more tired than I thought! Thanks!

      Oh, and the wedding SHOULD be taking place 6/02/12. I don’t expect to be moving it, and if I do, it won’t be MUCH later.


Leave a Reply

