The Meaning of Obsession

I have a very mild form of OCD. No, it’s not clinically proven or diagnosed, and it is not debilitating. In fact, I think that everyone has a form of OCD similar to mine.

Let me explain a little further. I have an ability to focus on one thing for an extended period of time. The extension isn’t always long enough to finish whatever it is I am focused on, but usually it at least gets me largely into the project, and often can bring me to the end. This is why I like NaNoWriMo, it is an extended focus with a time limit.

But when it’s not November, I obsess over other things that catch my attention. WOW is a perpetual obsession, but I play a LOT for a couple of weeks, then I tend to get distracted by other things, or feel guilty that I’m spending all of my time playing a game.

As I said, I think that my level of OCD is normal, or at least common, and possibly even healthy. I’ve seen it in most people I have come in contact with. Many men I know have that same level obsession every fall as soon as NFL starts (or in the rest of the world when Soccer starts). I know many people who have that level of attention for TV shows, movies, book series, and even the news. My mother lives in her garden for ten months of the year, even though it only grows for maybe six.

So it’s not a bad thing for everyone to have a little obsession. If you don’t have ANY, then it’s likely that you don’t have anything you’re really passionate about, and it might help to start looking for a hobby. Those turn into obesssions quickly and with very little transition.

Kitchen Tile FHive, desktop background

OCD, Exhibit Uno

2 Comments

  1. Bonnie said,

    March 9, 2011 at 11:23 am

    Hey hon!

    I completely agree, as long as said temporary obsessions don’t interfere with life. The little things like eating and sleeping, working and cleaning. I fully admit that I usually let things like dishes and laundry sit just a little too long, but I do them.

    There’s a fine line between healthy and unhealthy obsession, and that can usually be drawn with hygiene. But temporary fixations, yes, those are easy and they come and go and are capricious.

    In other topics, so you’re over here now, rather than on LJ?

    • broadwriter said,

      March 9, 2011 at 8:39 pm

      This is my ‘work’ blog. I haven’t posted on LJ, but I haven’t abandoned it, either. This is specifically to build my platform to help get me published/prove that I have fans for when I AM published. Hence, not a whole lot of personal info.


Leave a Reply

