Zommmbiiiies!

I had another extremely vivid zombie dream last night. AND still got back to sleep. It’s been a little while since I had the Zombie dreams (like, when Corey and I were obsessively watching “The Walking Dead” on his parent’s TiVo), but I hadn’t missed them.

Don’t get me wrong, vivid, interesting dreams are a good thing for authors. I’m glad that I get to have different ‘experiences’ without the consequences of, say, a zombie Apocalypse. I now have a slightly better idea what it’s like to be sneaking through the deserted streets and buildings avoiding slow-moving brain eaters. I have an idea what it would be like to be stuck in the basement of a college dorm full of same said zombies and make it out alive only because I was rescued by my brother (THANK YOU BRIAN!). I also know what it’s like to come ‘home’ to the apartment I’m sharing with Corey (in the dream) to find the door open and two zombies under blankets in the hallway as though they were still just dead when whoever alive was last there. There was a great deal of panic at the sight of the blankets, thinking that they might be Corey. They weren’t. Again, Brian saved the day. I realized after I woke up that the ‘apartment’ had the same layout as the office my dad used to have, and that there was the feeling of impending doom if we went through the door to the basement.

However, it does make for interrupted sleeping as I have to calm down enough to sleep thereafter. I do blame ‘Zed’ from “The Zombie Island of Dr. Zed” Borderlands expansion. Although I only half watch the game while we’re hanging out in the living room (usually I’m updating this or my FaceBook pages or something like that), there was quite a discussion last night on brains because of one of the quests.

On the other hand, between all of the different zombie dreams I’ve had in the last couple of months, I might have a novel already started. Hmmm… NaNoWriMo anyone?

2 Comments

  1. Lorraine Baldus said,

    February 19, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    I sure am glad I don’t have the dreams you do. I would never get any sleep. However, I do find that I wake up with story ideas to write. I keep a notebook by my bed so I don’t have to get up to write something down. I don’t want to take the chance of forgetting the idea.

    • broadwriter said,

      February 20, 2011 at 12:06 am

      I don’t have this kind of dream often, thankfully! I had them for a few days right before we got the house (I think it was stress) and haven’t had another since until last night. Kinda hard to forget, though!


Leave a Reply

